

City of Aurora

44 E. Downer Place Aurora, IL 60505 www.aurora-il.org

Legislation Text

File #: 19-0635, Version: 1

TO: Aurora City Council

FROM: Socorro Flores, Administrative Aide

DATE: July 18, 2019

SUBJECT:

A Resolution recommending appointments and reappointments to the Block Grant Working Committee.

DISCUSSION:

Every five years, the City of Aurora develops a long-term strategic plan called the Consolidated Plan, which must be submitted annually to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) in order to receive federal funds.

As a recipient of Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) and other federal funds from HUD, the City of Aurora must follow strict criteria in the creation and implementation of the Consolidated Plan. To comply with the city's consolidated plan, a resolution "Adopting a Citizen Participation Plan for the City of Aurora Community Development Block Grant Program" was passed, which includes an advisory body known as the Block Grant Working Committee (BGWC). The BGWC serves as an advisory body regarding the city's use of CDBG funds.

The BGWC is comprised of one member from each ward in the city who is nominated by the Alderman of that ward. There are also three members-at-large, appointed by the Mayor and each Aldermen-At-Large. The committee works with the Neighborhood Redevelopment Division (NRD), reviewing applications and providing feedback, advising the NRD regarding fund distribution and providing recommendations for the Annual Action Plan (AAP).

Serving on the BGWC provides residents the opportunity to gain a deeper understanding of available programs and address specific areas of concern in their respective wards. Members' terms coincide with their respective Alderman's term.

To update committee membership and provide the opportunity for all wards to submit candidates, individual memos were sent to the Aldermen in May of 2019. Below are the candidates nominated by ward:

Appoint to the Block Grant Working Committee: Terrie Simmons - At-Large Alderman Jenkins Claudia R. Urrutia - Ward 2 Linda Cole - Ward 4 Dan Hoffman- Ward 5 File #: 19-0635, Version: 1

Ken Gaul - Ward 8 (Information Pending)

Reappoint to the Block Grant Working Committee: Maria Hernandez -Ward 1 Helen Ratzlow - Ward 3

Warren Barton- Ward 6

RECOMMENDATION:

It is recommended that City Council approve the appointments and reappointments for the Block Grant Working Committee.



CITY OF AURORA, ILLINOIS

RESOLUTION N	0
DATE OF PASSAGE _	

A Resolution Appointing Terrie Simmons, Claudia R. Urrutia, Linda Cole, Dan Hoffman and Ken Gaul and reappointing Maria Hernandez, Helen Ratzlow and Warren Barton to the Block Grant Working Committee.

WHEREAS, the City of Aurora has a population of more than 25,000 persons and is, therefore, a home rule unit under subsection (a) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution of 1970; and

WHEREAS, subject to said Section, a home rule unit may exercise any power and perform any function pertaining to its government and affairs for the protection of the public health, safety, morals, and welfare: and

WHEREAS, candidates for the Block Grant Working Committee are nominated by the Aldermen; and

WHEREAS, it is the Mayor's desire that the Aldermen's recommended candidates be appointed and reappointed to said board.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the City Council of the City of Aurora, Illinois, hereby approve the appointments of Terrie Simmons, Aurora, IL, Claudia R. Urrutia, Aurora, IL, Linda Cole, Aurora, IL, Dan Hoffman, Aurora, IL, Ken Gaul, Aurora, IL, and reappointing Maria Hernandez, Aurora, IL and Helen Ratzlow, Aurora, IL and Warren Barton, Aurora, IL as members of the Block Grant Working Committee.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the terms of Terrie Simmons, Claudia R. Urrutia, Linda Cole, Dan

replacements have been appro	oved by the Co	ouncil.		
PAS	SED AND AP	PROVED on	·	
AYES	NAYS	NOT VOTING	ABSENT	
Alderman Llamas, Ward 1		Alderman Garza, W	/ard 2	
derman Mesiacos, Ward 3 Alderman Donnell, Ward 4		Ward 4		
Alderman Franco, Ward 5 Alderman Saville, Ward 6		Vard 6		
Alderman Hart-Burns, Ward 7 Alderman Smith, Ward 8		ard 8		
Alderman Bugg, Ward 9		Alderman Lofchie, '	Alderman Lofchie, Ward 10	
Alderman Jenkins, At Large Alderman Jenkins At Large		Alderman O'Conno	r, At Large	
ATTEST:				

Hoffman, Ken Gaul, Maria Hernandez, Helen Ratzlow and Warren Barton shall coincide with their respective Alderman's current term, however in any event, they shall serve until their respective

File #: 19-0635, Version: 1

City Clerk

Mayor