

# City of Aurora

# Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	19-0	593	Version:	1	Name:		
Туре:	Res	olution			Status:	Passed	
File created:	7/8/2	2019			In control:	City Council	
On agenda:	8/13	/2019			Final action:	8/13/2019	
Title:	A Resolution appointing Manal Zaman, Liam Fitzpatrick, Matt Leslie, Neha Tokala, Diana Gonzalez and Veronica Gebbia and reappointing Adam Pauley to the Aurora Youth Council.						
Sponsors:							
Indexes:							
Code sections:							
Attachments:	1. Adam Pauley-redacted.pdf, 2. Resumes-Redacted.pdf						
Date	Ver.	Action By	y		Ac	tion	Result
8/13/2019	1	City Cou	uncil		ар	proved	
8/6/2019	1	Commit	tee of the W	/hole	(P	LACED ON CONSENT AGENDA)	
7/16/2019	1	Rules, A Procedu	Administratio	on, an	d re	commended for approval	Pass

TO: Mayor Richard Irvin

FROM: Adrienne M. Holloway, Ph.D., Chief Innovation Officer

**DATE:** July 16, 2019

## SUBJECT:

A resolution appointing members to the Aurora Youth Council

## PURPOSE:

The purpose of this memo is to recommend the appointments of six (6) new members and the reappointment of one (1) member to the Aurora Youth Council.

## BACKGROUND:

The Aurora Youth Council (AYC) was established on August 22, 2017 via Aurora City Council vote. It was created to provide leadership development opportunities for Aurora youth. The AYC serves an advisory role for our elected body on issues related to our city's youth population as well as is involved in conducting outreach and engagement activities to ensure young people are becoming more involved in their city.

## DISCUSSION:

A committee consisting of staff and AYC representation reviewed applications and resumes of interested applicants, with the goal of appointing students to vacant (or vacating) positions. New members will serve a 2-year term unless graduation occurs within the term, thereby facilitating a vacancy. Below are the new candidates for the AYC:

Manal Zaman-Metea Valley H.S. Liam Fitzpatrick-Oswego East H.S. Matt Leslie-West Aurora H.S. Neha Tokala-Metea Valley H.S. Diana Gonzalez-IMSA Veronica Gebbia-Aurora Christian School

Reappointment Adam Pauley, Aurora Central Catholic

#### **IMPACT STATEMENT:**

The impact on the city will be minimal and will be outweighed by the positive benefits to be achieved by the establishment of the AYC:

\*Some staff time will be required to assist the AYC with navigating city resources such as use of meeting space and planning and execution of one event per year.

\*The 2019 and 2020 budgets will support AYC activities with an allocation of \$3,000 in account 101-1370-440.32.20, etc.

#### **RECOMMENDATIONS:**

Staff recommends approval of the resolution appointing six (6) new members and reappointing one (1) member to the Aurora Youth Council.

cc: Rules, Administration and Procedure Committee



## CITY OF AURORA, ILLINOIS

RESOLUTION NO.

DATE OF PASSAGE

A Resolution appointing Manal Zaman, Liam Fitzpatrick, Matt Leslie, Neha Tokala, Diana Gonzalez and Veronica Gebbia and reappointing Adam Pauley to the Aurora Youth Council.

WHEREAS, the City of Aurora has a population of more than 25,000 persons and is, therefore, a home rule unit under subsection (a) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution of 1970; and

WHEREAS, subject to said Section, a home rule unit may exercise any power and perform any function pertaining to its government and affairs for the protection of the public health, safety, morals, and welfare; and

WHEREAS, City of Aurora established the Aurora Youth Council to serve as a bridge between the youth of Aurora and the City of Aurora; and

WHEREAS, the Aurora Youth Council is in need of members; and

WHEREAS, it is the Mayor's desire that the candidates listed above be appointed to said council.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the City Council of the City of Aurora, Illinois, as follows: hereby approve the appointments of Manal Zaman, Liam Fitzpatrick, Matt Leslie, Neha Tokala, Diana Martinez and Veronica Gebbia and reappointing Adam Pauley to the Aurora Youth Council.