

City of Aurora

City Hall - Second Floor

44 E. Downer Place Aurora, IL 60507

Rules, Administration, and Procedure Meeting Minutes - Final

Tuesday April 15, 2025 3:00 PM

Chairperson Ron Woerman Vice Chair Carl Franco Alderman Edward J. Bugg Alderman Dan Barreiro Alderwoman Patty Smith

Members of the public wishing to provide public comment for this meeting must be physically present at the meeting and registered to speak prior to the meeting being called to order. Please contact the Aldermen's Office at (630) 256-3020.

CALL TO ORDER

Chairperson Woerman called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Present: 5 - Chairperson Ron Woerman, Vice Chair Carl Franco, Alderman Edward Bugg, Alderman Dan Barreiro and Alderwoman Patty Smith

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

25-0234

Approval of the minutes from Rules, Administration, and Procedure Committee meeting held on March 18, 2025.

A motion was made by Alderwoman Smith, seconded by Alderman Barreiro, that this agenda item be accepted and filed. The motion carried.

Ayes: 5

PUBLIC COMMENT

AGENDA

City of Aurora Page 1

25-0319

An Ordinance amending Chapter 27, specifically Sec. 27-176 "Parking Commercial Vehicles, Trailers, Truck Trailers and Truck Tractors in Residential Districts."

Alex Voigt, Deputy Chief of Staff - Mayors Office, City of Aurora presented and answered questions regarding this item.

A motion was made by Alderwoman Smith, seconded by Vice Chair Franco, that this agenda item be recommended for approval. The motion carried.

Ayes: 5

25-0264

A Resolution approving the appointment of Luis Lopez and Gus Antzakles to the Aurora LGBTQ Advisory Board.

Alex Voigt, Deputy Chief of Staff - Mayors Office, City of Aurora presented and answered questions regarding this item.

A motion was made by Alderwoman Smith, seconded by Vice Chair Franco, that this agenda item be recommended for approval. The motion carried.

Ayes: 5

25-0301

A Resolution authorizing the appointment of Michael Lippman, Shirley Payne, and Ana Diaz to the "Aging-in-Community Advisory Board" (AICB).

Alex Voigt, Deputy Chief of Staff - Mayors Office, City of Aurora presented and answered questions regarding this item.

A motion was made by Alderwoman Smith, seconded by Vice Chair Franco, that this agenda item be recommended for approval. The motion carried.

Ayes: 5

25-0306

A Resolution authorizing the appointment of Dr. Robert Halverson to the Aurora Education Commission.

Alex Voigt, Deputy Chief of Staff - Mayors Office, City of Aurora presented and answered questions regarding this item.

A motion was made by Alderwoman Smith, seconded by Vice Chair Franco, that this agenda item be recommended for approval. The motion carried.

Ayes: 5

<u>25-0311</u>

A Resolution authorizing the appointment of Jayden Badillo to the "Sister Cities Commission" (SCC).

Alex Voigt, Deputy Chief of Staff - Mayors Office, City of Aurora presented and answered questions regarding this item.

A motion was made by Alderwoman Smith, seconded by Vice Chair Franco, that this agenda item be recommended for approval. The motion carried.

Ayes: 5

<u>25-0312</u> A Resolution authorizing the appointment of Chantz Trotter to the Aurora

Youth Council.

Alex Voigt, Deputy Chief of Staff - Mayors Office, City of Aurora presented and

answered questions regarding this item.

A motion was made by Alderwoman Smith, seconded by Vice Chair Franco,

A motion was made by Alderwoman Smith, seconded by Vice Chair Franco, that this agenda item be recommended for approval. The motion carried.

Ayes: 5

25-0313 A Resolution approving the reappointment of Dave McCabe to the

Aurora Firefighters Pension Fund Board.

Alex Voigt, Deputy Chief of Staff - Mayors Office, City of Aurora presented and answered questions regarding this item.

A motion was made by Alderwoman Smith, seconded by Vice Chair Franco, that this agenda item be recommended for approval. The motion carried.

Ayes: 5

<u>25-0314</u> A Resolution authorizing the appointment of Steve Kulesza to the Tree

Board.

Alex Voigt, Deputy Chief of Staff - Mayors Office, City of Aurora presented and answered questions regarding this item.

A motion was made by Alderwoman Smith, seconded by Vice Chair Franco, that this agenda item be recommended for approval. The motion carried.

Ayes: 5

25-0316 A Resolution authorizing the reappointment of Gina Moga, Kevin

Fitzpatrick, Mike Baum, Chistine Goerlich Weber, R. Peter Grometer, John Savage, Jonathan Hylton, Timothy Hoppa, and Cynthia Latimer to

the Aurora Civic Center Authority board.

This Resolution was held

Alex Voigt, Deputy Chief of Staff - Mayors Office, Josh Ream - Director of Development Services, and John Curley - Chief Development Services Office - City of Aurora presented and answered questions regarding this information only item.

Item 25-0321 - 'An Ordinance Amending Chapter 12 of the Aurora Code of Ordinances titled Buildings and Building Regulations to Adopt the 2024 I-Series of Codes and Recommended Amendments' was walked on and discussed.

CLOSED SESSION

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Alderwoman Smith, seconded by Vice Chair Franco, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried. Chairperson Woerman adjourned the meeting at 3:31 p.m.

Ayes: 5

THIS MEETING AGENDA SHALL ALSO SERVE AS NOTICE THAT A MAJORITY OF A QUORUM OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF AURORA, ILLINOIS MAY ATTEND OR PARTICIPATE IN THIS COMMITTEE MEETING. NO OFFICIAL ACTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL SHALL OCCUR AT THIS COMMITTEE MEETING. MINUTES OF THE COMMITTEE MEETING SHALL CONSTITUTE THE OFFICIAL RECORD OF THE COMMITTEE MEETING AND ANY MEETING OF THE MAJORITY OF THE QUORUM OF THE CITY COUNCIL OCCURRING AT THE SAME TIME AND LOCATION.

VISIT OUR WEB SITE FOR CURRENT AGENDAS - https://www.aurora-il.org/985/City-Council-Agendas-Minutes

Any individual with a disability requesting a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in a public meeting should contact the Aldermen's Office at least 48 hours in advance of the scheduled meeting. The Aldermen's Office can be reached in person at 60 E. Downer Place, Aurora Illinois, via telephone at 630-256-3020 or email at AldermensOffice@aurora.il.us. Every effort will be made to allow for meeting participation.

City of Aurora Page 4